2022 Reflections & 2023 Resolutions

Happy 2023! I hope it’s not too late to wish everyone Happy New Year as it is now already February 😂 Bidding farewell to the year 2022 & now we welcome the year 2023 🥹 2022 was such a good year for me. Despite the hecticness that hit me was unending & still hitting me in the face now that we’re in 2023, there were so many blessings that 2022 blessed me with.

The birth of Jasmine Joy has got to be the biggest blessing I’ve received in 2022. She is everything that I could’ve wish for to complete my small family. She is such a smiley kid but not to those that she first met. Sassy like her mommy.

Carmen’s 2nd year of toddlerhood is another thing that made me feel so blessed to be a mother. Seeing her growth, her personality changes, her adapting to being a big sister, for me are so fun to witness & observe. She becomes more calm at church, follow instructions well (not all the time), I can even ask her to get things, she can wear & take off her own clothes now. Looking forward on how much she would change when she turn 3 later in June 😆

Being able to go back to the office after maternity leave was also one of the good thing that happened last year. Of course, the mom guilt of not being able to care for my kids myself will never go away. But I know by working will make me feel good about myself & that will make me be a better mom. I also take it as my ‘me-time’ even if it’s not really that, at least I get to do things other than mothering.

2023 Resolutions

With my 2022 resolutions (which I did not share), I realized that I really shouldn’t be stressing myself to have bigger goals. As I always thought that the bigger my goals, more achievements I will achieve in that year. For me, it was the total opposite. 2022 was the year that I decided to only have small goals that are easily to be ticked off the list like maintaining the weight below 80kg afterbirth instead of shedding 20kg afterbirth. Which I did manage to maintain my weight below 80kg & I did go back to my pre-pregnancy weight.

So this year resolution, I want to show up more for myself. Doing more of the things that I enjoy doing like creating contents on IG & TT, blogging, self-care routine. Going to keep the resolution simple & I think I’d give the ’12 week year’ thing a go. It’s an idea that you split the year in quarters & set goals for only 12 weeks, then you make another sets of goals for another 12 weeks & so on.

My first goal is a habit reset whereby I must complete all my daily habits. I have a list of habits that I bring forward from last year which are taking my daily supplements, drink at least 1 litre of water, shower before 8pm & more. New ones that I’d like to add is to do 2-3 simple beauty self-care routine in a week. Whether it’s hair mask day, face mask day, nail care day – anything simple that’s less than 20mins I can do that will make me look better but will help me mentally too.

Second goal is to put effort into how I dress for work. I really looked like a potato when I went to the office in 2022. I’ve been trying to accessorize by putting on headband so I don’t look boring when I don’t have makeup on, which I really LOVE my headbands. Need to clear out some spaces for clothes that I can wear to work & out.

Third goal which is also my fave goal, to have better commitment in content creating which also means to post more content, not only just on IG & TikTok but blogging too. I’ve been enjoying posting my weekly reflections #JJWeeklyReflection2023 on IG. One of my goals for this section is to also post IG reel & Tiktok at least once a month & I think I’m on track on that. Follow me on IG & TikTok with the account handle @jesssjustine 😄

I hope that I can achieve my 12 weeks goals with ease & let’s get back into this again after 12 weeks for another sets of goals 💪🏼

Till next post,

Jess

Leave a comment